Objectives of the SYFC Flying Course

To introduce and expose students to flying and aviation.
To discover each student’s aptitude and potential for flying.
To develop the skills, knowledge and character necessary for flying training.

The SYFC Flying Course is divided into 3 phases. Phases I and II constitute the Basic Flying Course, which can be completed with or without the achievement of the 1st Solo Flight. Phase III is the PPL Course, which leads to the attainment of the CAAS issued PPL.

The primary aim of the SYFC is to expose as many students as possible to the world of aviation. To this end, SYFC’s aim would have already been achieved if a student completes Phase I of the Flying Course. Students who show good potential will however be recommended to proceed to Phase II, where the basics of take-off and landing are taught. Students who demonstrate competence in this phase will be given the opportunity to make their 1st solo flight, which marks the end of this phase. Out of those who achieve 1st solo, only the outstanding ones will be recommended for Phase III of the course, which is the PPL Course.

Phase I consists of 6 sorties designed to introduce and teach the basic manoeuvres of flying. It will develop the necessary skills required to proceed on to Phase II of training. Training is conducted in the Light Aircraft Training Area
Phase II consists of 11 sorties and is designed to introduce and teach the students how to take-off and land safely.
Phase III of the SYFC Flying Course is also known as the PPL Course as it culminates in the attainment of a Restricted PPL issued by CAAS. It consists of 35 sorties, 7 written examinations and a Final Handling Flight Test with a practical oral examination. All examinations and tests in this phase are administered and assessed by CAAS.

About the Aircraft and Flight Training Device

DA40 Aircraft
DA40 Flight Training Device